Chemical engineering honors alumnus with department name


News-Russell-WebThe University of Tulsa is pleased to announce the naming of the Russell School of Chemical Engineering and the establishment of two substantial endowments to advance the program.

Renowned energy industry entrepreneur and devoted TU alumnus Thomas H. Russell (BS ’57) and his wife, Pam, provided a generous gift to establish the Professor A. Paul Buthod Endowed Chair in Chemical Engineering. Russell recently committed additional funds to TU’s Keplinger Hall renovation, expected to begin this spring.

“This transformational commitment will further advance the national reputation of our chemical engineering program,” said TU President Steadman Upham. “Tom and Pam’s efforts support the university’s comprehensive mission to excel in academics, research and community endeavors.”

Russell is the founder of two successful energy companies, T.H. Russell Co. and the Thomas Russell Co. Both firms specialize in the design and fabrication of oil and gas processing plants and refining equipment for operations around the world.

“We’re grateful for the unwavering support of Tom and his family,” said James R. Sorem, Jr., dean of TU’s College of Engineering and Natural Sciences. “His generous gifts help provide the invaluable resources that enrich our students’ educational experience such as exceptional facilities, thoughtful instruction and innovative research in chemical engineering.”

Russell’s devotion to his alma mater also is exemplified in the T.H. Russell Co. Scholarship for Engineering, the Thomas Russell Co. Provost Scholarship Endowment for Chemical Engineering and the Thomas and Pam Russell Vestibule in Stephenson Hall. Additionally, Pam has contributed to TU’s Department of Communicative Disorders.

Russell was named a TU Distinguished Alumnus in 2013 and was inducted into the College of Engineering and Natural Sciences Hall of Fame in 1993. He has served on the Chemical Engineering Advisory Board since 1981 and is a member of the TU Circle Society and the President’s Council.