Nimrod International Journal of Poetry and Prose
Home Mission Contact


Nimrod Literary Awards

Call for Manuscripts

Conference for Readers & Writers

Featured Issues

Forthcoming Issues


Subscriptions & Sales

Contributor Achievements

Artist Guidelines



Email Newsletter


Nimrod Conference for Readers and Writers
Save the date for Nimrod’s Conference for Readers and Writers, this year on Friday, October 16th and Saturday, October 17th at The University of Tulsa. Friday’s Dinner will include a keynote speech by Karen Russell, as well as readings by the 2015 Nimrod Literary Award winners. The Conference on Saturday will feature writing workshops, one-on-one editing sessions, readings, and panel discussions. We’re still in the planning stages, but guests so far include Karen Russell, Molly Antopol, Tina Chang, and Benjamin Myers. 
Karen Russell won the 2012 National Magazine Award for fiction, and her first novel, Swamplandia! (2011), was a finalist for the Pulitzer Prize. She is the author of two short story collections, St. Lucy’s Home for Girls Raised by Wolves and Vampires in the Lemon Groves and Other Stories, as well as the novella Sleep Donation with Greta Gerwig. She is a graduate of the Columbia MFA program, a 2011 Guggenheim Fellow, and a 2012 Fellow at the American Academy in Berlin.
Molly Antopol’s debut story collection, The UnAmericans was longlisted for the 2014 National Book Award and received a 5 Under 35 Award from the National Book Foundation. She teaches creative writing at Stanford University, where she was a Wallace Stegner Fellow. Her short stories have appeared The New YorkerNimrod, One Story, The Oxford American, American Short Fiction, The Wall Street Journal, San Francisco Chronicle, The Rumpus and elsewhere.
Born in Oklahoma to Chinese immigrants, Tina Chang is a poet, teacher, and editor. She was the first woman to be named Poet Laureate of Brooklyn. Her poetry collections include Of Gods & Strangers (2011) and Half-Lit Houses (2004), which was a finalist for the 2005 Asian American Literary Award. She has received awards from the New York Foundation for the Arts, Academy of American Poets, Poets & Writers, and the Ludwig Vogelstein Foundation, among others.
Benjamin Myers is the 2015-2016 Poet Laureate of Oklahoma and the author of two books of poetry, Lapse Americana and Elegy for Trains. His poems may be read in The Yale Review, The New York Quarterly, 32 Poems, Poetry Northwest, Nimrod International Journal, and Redivider, among others, as well as on the Verse Daily website. He has been honored with an Oklahoma Book Award from the Oklahoma Center for the Book and with a Tennessee Williams Scholarship from the Sewanee Writers’ Conference.
The cost of the conference is $50, but scholarships are also available, especially for students and teachers. We’ll be announcing more key guests and speakers throughout the spring, so check back here for more information soon!
© 2009 The University of Tulsa | 800 South Tucker Drive, Tulsa, OK 74104 | Phone: 918-631-2000
Website by Cedar Bend Consulting