2017 Outstanding Teachers honored - The University of Tulsa

2017 Outstanding Teachers honored

The University of Tulsa honored its 2017 Outstanding Teachers at the Spring Commencement on May 6. Kris Foyil, clinical assistant professor of speech-language pathology; Karl Pollin-Dubois, associate professor of French and comparative literature; and Keith Symcox, instructor of chemistry were selected for their devotion to teaching and mentoring TU students.

The university inaugurated the distinguished award for outstanding teaching in 1980. Honorees may receive the award only once in a lifetime, and only three awards are made annually. The award is especially meaningful because it must be initiated by a student’s nomination, and the winners are selected by colleagues who serve on the Faculty Affairs Committee of the Faculty Senate. Each honoree receives a medal and a stipend.

Foyil joined the faculty in 2009, teaching in the classroom and supervising students in a clinical setting. She has interests in speech, language and literacy development of young children. She is the academic adviser for undergraduates in speech and language pathology and coadviser for the TUSSLHA organization, a member of the Craniofacial Team and a certified member of the American Speech and Hearing Association.

Pollin-Dubois joined the languages faculty in 2007. In 2011, he received the Thomas H. Buckley Award for outstanding teaching in the Kendall College of Arts & Sciences. He is an expert on contemporary French literature and comparative literature, philosophy and cinema and is commended for the breadth of his courses, the innovative nature of his pedagogy and his many contributions to interdisciplinary study of the humanities.

Symcox has taught in the Department of Chemistry for 25 years, beginning his career with TU in 1991. He was awarded the College of Engineering and Natural Sciences’ highest teaching award, the Kermit Brown Award for Teaching Excellence, in 2011. Additionally, Symcox was elected as an instructor at the National Science Foundation National Food Chemistry Workshop from 2012 to 2016.