Bell Distinguished Lectureship - The University of Tulsa
Close Menu
Close Menu

Bell Distinguished Lectureship

The Rita and William Bell Lecture is a yearly feature housed in the Kendall College of Arts and Sciences. Begun in the spring of 1991, the program consists of lectures with a distinguished visiting professor joining the university faculty every fourth semester. The lectures focus on a topic generally related to Anglican and Ecumenical concerns, and the faculty appointment is made in either the Departments of Philosophy and Religion, English and/or History.

The Rita and William H. Bell Professorship in Anglican and Ecumenical Studies was created in memory of the late William H. Bell, trustee emeritus of The University of Tulsa and individual trustee for the Chapman-McFarlin charitable trust complex. The professorship also honors his late wife, Rita Bell, as well as the Anglican faith and personal commitment to ecumenism of J.A. Chapman and Leta M. Chapman.

2023 Lecturer - Amy Jill Levine

Numerous Christians regard Jesus as rejecting a Judaism – influenced by legalistic, elitist Pharisees – incorrectly characterized as obsessed with ritual purity, misogynistic, vengeful and xenophobic. Understanding Jesus in his Jewish context corrects false stereotypes, brings new meaning to his parables, politics and piety, and opens new paths for Jewish-Christian relations. Amy Jill Levine is the Rabbi Stanley M. Kessler Distinguished Professor of New Testament and Jewish Studies at Hartford International University for Religion and Peace and University Professor of New Testament and Jewish Studies Emerita and Mary Jane Werthan Professor of Jewish Studies Emerita at Vanderbilt University.Levine is the first Jew to teach New Testament at Rome’s Pontifical Biblical Institute, an elected member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and the first winner of the Seelisberg Prize for Jewish-Christian Relations. Levine describes herself as an unorthodox member of an Orthodox synagogue and a Yankee Jewish feminist who works to counter biblical interpretations that exclude and oppress.

For more information, please contact Matt Drever at 918-631-2647 or <a href=””></a>.

  • Past Visiting Professors
    • Spring 1991 – Richard E. Wentz
    • Fall 1992 – Alfred Corn
    • Fall 1994 – Robert Farrar Capon
    • Spring 1997- Keith Ward
    • Spring 2000 – Martha Reeves
    • Fall-Spring 2001-2002 Alfred Corn
    • Spring 2005 – Tim Fuller
    • Spring 2006 – Charles Kimball
    • Fall 2008 – Robert McMahon
    • Fall 2010 – David Corey
    • Spring 2013 – Clare Haynes
    • Spring 2015 – Clare Haynes
    • Fall 2017 – Anna Battigelli
  • Past Distinguished Lecturers
    • 1991 – The Right Rev. Lord Robert Runcie
    • 1992 – Prof. Alfred Corn
    • 1993 – The Right Rev. Edmond L. Browning
    • 1994 – The Rev. Prof. Robert Farrar Capon
    • 1995 – Prof. Robert Kinloch Massie, Jr.
    • 1996 – The Hon. John C. Danforth
    • 1997 – The Rev. Prof. Keith Ward
    • 1999 – The Right Rev. Craig B. Anderson
    • 2000 – Prof. Martha Reeves
    • 2001 – The American Boy Choir
    • 2002 – Prof. Alfred Corn
    • 2003 – Prof. Charles Kimball
    • 2004 – The Right Hon. Lord George Carey
    • 2007 – Dr. Barry Morgan
    • 2009 – Marilyn McCord Adams
    • 2011 – The Most Rev. Katharine Jefferts Schori
    • 2014 – Sarah Coakley
    • 2015 – Clare Haynes
    • 2015 – Miroslav Volf
    • 2017 – Anna Battigelli
    • 2019 – Jane Shaw
    • 2023 – Amy Jill Levine