googleplus linkedin pinterest snapchat vimeo youtube

Giving to McFarlin

At the heart of every great academic institution stands its library and at The University of Tulsa, our own iconic McFarlin Library is no exception. As TU’s Grand Dame since 1930, McFarlin has been the physical and academic center of our beautiful campus.

The financial resources needed to sustain a world-class library like McFarlin are vast. However, through the generous support of friends, alumni and other benefactors of The University of Tulsa, we are able to provide TU students and faculty with the academic resources necessary to succeed in their scholastic enterprise.

The McFarlin Library Annual Fund for Excellence

This fund provides crucial unrestricted dollars to:

  • Meet the ever-increasing cost of scholarly journal subscriptions that are critical for research
  • Provide the ability to expand our access to other print and electronic information resources (books, journals, research databases, media, etc.)
  • Ensure the continual enhancement of campus computing resources
  • Enable McFarlin to continue acquiring important rare books and manuscripts for our special collections.

The McFarlin Fellows

Formally established in 1993, the McFarlin Fellows support The University of Tulsa’s rare book, manuscript, and special collections with an annual contribution of $2000 or more. McFarlin Fellows are also recognized as members of The University of Tulsa’s President’s Council and are invited to special events organized by the President of the University. Annual donors of $1,500 or more to any University program become members of the President’s Council but only those supporting the acquisition of rare books and manuscripts become McFarlin Fellows.

The Ben Graf Henneke Society

Established in 2009, The Ben Graf Henneke Society pays tribute to The University of Tulsa’s President Emeritus, Ben Henneke, and his dedication to McFarlin Library. From his days as a student, Dr. Henneke spent countless hours in McFarlin and maintained an office there until his passing in the fall of 2009. Dr. Henneke provided steadfast support for the library during his presidency and was a generous donor.

Membership in this premier donor society comes with a commitment of $25,000. Each generous gift, which can be paid at once or over a period of up to five years, will be pooled in an endowed fund that will serve to attract renowned authors and scholars to TU and to raise national and international regard for the university’s rare books and manuscripts held in special collections.

Henneke Society membership provides access to the university’s special collections department and invitations to select events at The University of Tulsa.

Your gift may be made in one annual payment, in pledge payments throughout the year, and can include matching gifts from your employer.

For more information on making a contribution, please contact the Associate Director of Annual Giving at 918-631-3639.