Extra energy
Close Menu
Close Menu

Extra energy

The Landman Scholarship Trust has granted scholarship awards to 13 undergraduate and one graduate student studying energy management at The University of Tulsa for the 2021-22 academic year. “Our students received a total of $50,000 in scholarship awards from the Landman Scholarship Trust,” said Tom Seng, the director of the School of Energy Economics, Policy and Commerce. “This generosity is much appreciated, especially given the state of the oil and gas industry over the past year.”

The following undergraduate scholarship recipients are enrolled in TU’s BSBA in energy management program:

  • Ashley Allgood
  • Brett Bowman
  • Ileana Braddock
  • Michael Carson
  • Jerik Embleton
  • George Enterline
  • Jonathan Fisher
  • Alexandra Lesner
  • Luc Lignieres
  • Matthew Rhoads
  • Luis Salazar
  • Ryan Still
  • Jannethe Sanchez Vidales
man smiling, wearing glasses, dressed in an open-collar shirt and a dark-colored blazer
Jeramiah Cooper

Jeramiah Cooper received a 2021 American Association of Professional Landmen (AAPL) Landman Scholarship, which honors university students in energy-related fields of study for their academic and leadership achievements. While he works as a staff landman with Apache Corporation in Texas, Cooper also finds the time and energy to be a student in TU’s online master of energy business (MEB) program.

“I am extremely thankful to the AAPL for their continued support of professional landmen like myself who are pursuing higher education degrees through AAPL-accredited universities,” Cooper remarked. “Even more, I cannot say thank you enough to those professors at TU who have sacrificed their time to impart wisdom from their career onto those of us students in the MEB program. Thank you for your time, effort and dedication to the program.”

Both the undergraduate energy management program and the MEB are accredited by the AAPL. The undergraduate program is one of only nine AAPL-accredited programs in the United States, while the master’s is one of only three that has received AAPL accreditation.

“This year’s scholarship award recipients from AAPL’s accredited programs represent very special attributes,” said Nancy McCaskell, CPL, chairman of the Landman Scholarship Trust. “They are the best and brightest, and they have persevered and excelled despite unprecedented obstacles before them. During the pandemic, they have continued to move forward with their dreams. They have learned and participated online, continued to strive as leaders in their own communities and local associations and have provided an example to all of us of dogged determination and academic excellence. We look forward to the impact each will make as future leaders in the land and energy profession. The Landman Scholarship Trust and AAPL applaud every recipient.”

The Landman Scholarship Trust was established in 1959 by the American Association of Professional Landmen, a professional industry association that promotes the highest standards of technical and ethical performance for all women and men engaged in the practice of landwork associated with the stewardship of energy and mineral resources. Since its inception, the trust has granted over $1.5 million in scholarships to students aspiring to careers as land professionals in the energy industry.

To be considered for a Landman Scholarship Trust award, an applicant must be a full-time student in a petroleum land management (PLM) or energy management (EM) program at one of the 15 AAPL-accredited programs. Applicants must also have a cumulative grade point average of 3.0 or greater, be a student member of the AAPL and serve as an active member of the student organization associated with their university’s PLM/EM major if available.

Energized by the energy business? Then look no further than TU’s dynamic School of Energy Economics, Policy and Commerce.