Parameswar Hari, Ph.D. - The University of Tulsa
Close Menu
Close Menu

Parameswar Hari, Ph.D.

Professor of Physics and Engineering Physics

Director of Summer Undergraduate Program in Physics (SURPP)

Director of Oklahoma Photovoltaic Research Institute (OKPVRI)


Parameswar Hari, Ph.D., is a professor specializing in solar cells and related technologies. As the director of the Oklahoma Photovoltaic Research Institute, an interdisciplinary research center comprising research faculty from The University of Tulsa, University of Oklahoma, and Oklahoma State University, he leads the Photovoltaic Research Group, which has been working on improving the efficiency of conventional solar cells and developing novel solar cells for the past 10 years.

In 2023, Hari’s team at TU was selected to receive $135,000 for their work as part of a research group – along with OSU and OU – that received a $750,000 EPSCoR grant from NASA.

He has published 16 papers (out of 97) in solar cell technology and has obtained funds from NASA, NSF, DoD (ARPA-E), AF-SBIR, and DOE STTR for developing nanomaterials for solar cells and photonic devices.

Hari oversees four research labs at The University of Tulsa, fully equipped to fabricate and characterize thin film solar cells. In the past 14 years, Hari has mentored 38 undergraduate students. Hari also supervised three Ph.D. students and nine master’s students.

Hari has taught 14 courses, from conceptual physics (Physics 1003) to advanced quantum mechanics (Physics 7292) since 2004. Hari authored 97 condensed matter physics publications and gave 112 presentations at national and international conferences. His research interests are solar cell fabrication, characterization, and fabrication of novel nanomaterials and nanodevices.

Awards and Honors

  • Energy Faculty Fellow, 2024-25
  • Zelimir Schmidt Award for Outstanding Research, 2019
  • Faculty-Graduate Student HOPE (Hands-On Photovoltaic Experience) Fellowship, 2018
  • Inaugural Sesquicentennial Lecture, Kerala University, 2015, Title: “Nanomaterials in Nature”
  • Faculty Mentor: Oklahoma Governor’s Cup (First Place) for Innovative Technology, 2013
  • Outstanding Tulsa Undergraduate Research Challenge (TURC) Mentor, 2009
  • Selected to the 2007 Edition of Who’s Who Among America’s Teachers
  • Cottrell Science Award: Research Corporation, 2000-02
  • Claude C. Laval Award for Innovative Technology, 1999
  • Visiting Scientist Fellowship, National High Magnetic Field Laboratory, 1996
  • Jack W. Kueffel Award for Outstanding Research at the Post – Doctoral Level, 1996
  • Garr – Cutler Energy Foundation Award for Research on Hydrogenated; Amorphous Silicon, 1994
  • Materials Research Society Outstanding Graduate Student Research Award Finalist, 1993


  • Ph.D., University of Utah
    • Dissertation: “Nuclear Magnetic Resonance and Nuclear Quadrupole Resonance Studies of Amorphous Semiconductors”
  • M.S., Physics, Ohio University

Research interests and areas of expertise

  • Solar cell fabrication including solar cells used in moon exploration
  • Nanotechnology development including fabrication and testing of thin films with nanostructure