university of tulsa logo

Students honored at 2014 Gussman Juried Student Exhibition

Tuesday, April 15, 2014

TU artYoung artists showcase top creative works

The University of Tulsa School of Art has named winners for its 46th Annual Gussman Juried Student Exhibition, the school’s capstone exhibit of each academic year. The exhibition continues through April 17 in the Alexandre Hogue Gallery in Phillips Hall.
The Gussman Juried Student Exhibition showcases the most outstanding creative works produced by students in the School of Art. All TU undergraduate and graduate students enrolled during the spring and fall 2013 semesters as well as the spring 2014 semester were eligible to submit works for jurying in the exhibit. The exhibition is funded by the Herbert and Rosaline Gussman Foundation.

Graduate student winners include: Cameron Buckley, Best of Show, Beneath; Megan Curtis, 1st place,Descent; Libby Williams, 2nd place, One Park II (Porch View); Nancy Andrasko, 3rd place, Mistic; John Bryant, 4th place, A Page from a Yellow Book; Taryn Singleton, Honorable Mention, 76.

Undergraduate winners are: Rebekah Hogan, 1st place, Window Evangelism; Kathelene Vazquez, 2nd place, Boom; Elias Brinkman, 3rd place, Sebastian; Sarah Beam, 4th place, The Moustache; Katie Snyder, honorable mention,Grandpa’s Closet; Kortlin Schmidt, honorable mention, Neutral Still Life; Jade Dittus, honorable mention, Elijah; Kai Him Chu, honorable mention, Red Snout; Shelly Poor, honorable mention, 3 color photographs, untitled.

The Burt Holmes Painting Award winners are Dittus (undergraduate) and Singleton (graduate).

This year’s juror was artist Seth Lower of Los Angeles. Lower received a master of fine arts degree from the San Francisco Art Institute in 2008. His work has been shown at Cirrus Gallery, Weekend and Torrance Art Museum in Los Angeles; Mission 17 and The Lab in San Francisco; New Insight in Art Chicago; and Kuandu Museum of Fine Arts in Taipei, Taiwan. Lower is the author of The Sun Shone Glaringly and Man with Buoy and Other Tales.

Jenk and Jerri Jones sponsored the following School of Art awards: Adriann Anderson and Jill Graves, Alexandre Hogue Outstanding Seniors; Nancy Andrasko, Thomas Manhart Ceramics Award; Nancy Andrasko, Jerri Jones Research Award.

Ben and Nancy Clark sponsored the following Sarah Clark Memorial Awards: John Bryant and Becky Rolseth, Best in Printmaking; Jessica Provencher, Best in Art History; Mary Carol Franko and Lauren Mann, Best in Graphic Design.

Lora Hodge