Tenure and Promotion - December 23, 2019 - The University of Tulsa

Tenure and Promotion – December 23, 2019

Dear colleagues,

We are just days away from a new year and a new decade. A highlight of the past year has been getting to know so many of you better through one-on-one coffees, office hours, departmental visits, class visits and reading your tenure, promotion and contract renewal files. Your dedication to your research and scholarship, to teaching our students, to building our university and to our communities is nothing short of spectacular. I am deeply appreciative of the time, talent and wisdom you share with our TU community every day.

At this time of the year, we recognize the extraordinary achievements of our faculty who have earned tenure, as well as faculty who have earned a promotion. These faculty have been reviewed by their peers within the university – as well as peers outside the university but within their discipline, by their dean, by me, by the president and, for tenure, by TU’s Board of Trustees. I am honored to announce the following tenure and promotion decisions.

Tenure and Promotion to Associate Professor

Robin Aupperle, Ph.D., Associate Professor of Community Medicine
David Fisher, Ph.D, Associate Professor of Psychology
Erin Iski, Ph.D., Associate Professor of Chemistry and Biochemistry
Gaurav Kampani, Ph.D., Associate Professor of Political Science
Sahib Khalsa, Ph.D., M.D., Associate Professor of Community Medicine
Travis Lowe, Ph.D, Associate Professor of Sociology
Yusi Ouyang, Ph.D., Associate Professor of Economics
Hema Ramsurn, Ph.D., Associate Professor of Chemical Engineering

Associate Tenured Faculty Promotion to Professor

Jennifer Airey, Ph.D., Professor of English
Ali Akhtar, Ph.D., Professor of Biological Science
Ronald Bonett, Ph.D., Professor of Biological Science
Brian Chabowski, Ph.D., Professor of Marketing
Parameswar Hari, Ph.D., Professor of Physics
Roger Mailler, Ph.D., Professor of Computer Science
Tyler Moore, Ph.D., Tandy Professor of Cyber Security
Laura Stevens, Ph.D., Chapman Professor of English
Eric Wickel, Ph.D., Chapman Professor of Athletic Training
Charles Wood, Ph.D., Professor of Marketing

Resident Contract Faculty Promotion

Dustin Donnell, M.S.I.E., Applied Assistant Professor of Mechanical Engineering
Karen Grundy, J.D., Professor of Legal Writing
Julie Hyland, Au.D., Applied Associate Professor of Communication Disorders
Miriam Marton, J.D., Associate Clinical Professor of Law
Keith Symcox, M.S., Applied Associate Professor of Chemistry
Please join me in congratulating our colleagues. Well deserved!

I wish the entire TU community a restful and restorative winter break. May you enjoy the holiday season with family and friends as we look ahead to a bright new year in 2020.


All the best,

Janet Levit
Provost and EVP for Academic Affairs