university of tulsa logo

Women’s basketball team leads by example

Not only are the student-athletes of the Golden Hurricane women’s basketball team focused on success in the classroom and on the court, they are determined to make a difference in the Tulsa community.

During 2014-15, members of the team engaged in a variety of service-related projects: staffing the booths for Tulsa Zoo’s annual HallowZOOeen event in October, assisting with the holiday dinner at the Center for Individuals with Physical Challenges by preparing and serving food to residents and their families in December, and partnering with Big Brothers Big Sisters to “adopt” two children from families in need at Christmas. The children were invited to campus where they toured TU’s athletic facilities, spent time with players and opened gifts that had been purchased for them and their families.

Other team activities included participating in a Habitat for Humanity build day and sorting and packaging food at the Community Food Bank of Eastern Oklahoma.

Realizing the impact they have as role models and mentors, team members organized activities at three elementary schools. They regularly assisted with reading groups for second-grade classes at Sequoyah Elementary, and team leaders spoke at Academy Central and Chouteau schools about their experiences as student-athletes. Team members emphasized the importance of making good grades, practicing good sportsmanship, having a positive attitude and listening to teachers.

In recognition of community service, The University of Tulsa established the Medicine Wheel Award honoring faculty, staff and students who provide meritorious contributions toward the well-being of our citizens and community. And the women’s basketball team received one of the 2015 Medicine Wheel Awards.

Others honored at spring commencement were Lauren Stanley, recent graduate of the Kendall College of Arts & Sciences; Lee Anne Nichols, associate professor of nursing; and Devra McManus, administrative associate in the Office of the Executive Vice President. Read more about all of the 2015 recipients here.