College of Engineering & Computer Science recognizes faculty, staff with awards - The University of Tulsa
Close Menu
Close Menu

College of Engineering & Computer Science recognizes faculty, staff with awards

During its annual Hall of Fame event on April 9, 2024, The University of Tulsa College of Engineering & Computer Science recognized faculty and staff with select awards.

Before inducting the 2023 Hall of Fame honorees, James Sorem Inaugural Dean Andreas A. Polycarpou acknowledged the seven faculty and staff award winners.

“Tonight, we want to recognize our exceptional faculty and staff that provide the educational opportunities for our students to thrive. Our students and alumni are quick to acknowledge the support and mentoring provided by our faculty and staff. We are, indeed, fortunate to have dedicated and talented faculty and staff,” Polycarpou said. “Your efforts in innovation propel us towards our goal of being a preeminent engineering and computing program in the country.”

Associate Dean for Research Michael W. Keller then recognized faculty and staff who received these prestigious awards.

Javen S. Weston, assistant professor of chemical engineering, received the Kermit E. Brown Teaching Excellence Award for Undergraduate Studies, which honors faculty who have distinguished themselves in the classroom.

“Dr. Weston is noted for his dedication to refining his teaching methods to accommodate all students,” said Keller. “He was commended for his dedication to providing detailed feedback and allowing for student adjustment, and for his support and engaging classroom environment.”

The Zelimir Schmidt Research Award for Early Career Research went to William LePage, assistant professor of mechanical engineering. The award goes to a faculty member with up to six years of residence and recognizes faculty and postdoctoral fellows who are critical to the ongoing success of the college’s research mission, shaping their fields and advancing TU’s effort to achieve Carnegie R1 research designation.

The Zelimir Schmidt Research Award for Outstanding Career Research, which recognizes faculty with six or more years of residence, went to Cem Sarica, the Floyd M. Stevenson Distinguished Presidential Chair in petroleum engineering.

“Dr. Sarica is being recognized for his long-standing excellence in the areas of multiphase flow. His long-standing industry partnerships, coupled with his unwavering dedication to advancing knowledge and innovation in the field, demonstrate his exceptional leadership in fostering collaborative research across the college,” Keller said. “His work is critical to building TU’s global reputation for excellence in petroleum engineering research.”

A new highlight this year was the inaugural Dean’s Faculty Excellence Awards and Dean’s Staff Excellence Awards.

The Dean’s Faculty Excellence Awards went to Amy Schachle, senior instructor in mathematics, and Mauricio Papa, the Brock Associate Professor in computer science.

“Dr. Papa is being recognized for his commitment to service to the college, his excellent teaching, and his active research program,” said Keller. “He is always willing to go the extra mile to support a colleague or a college initiative and is a critical lead on research projects at the intersection of energy and cybersecurity.”

“We celebrate Amy whose unwavering dedication as an outstanding teacher, valued colleague, and influential leader within the Math department, coupled with her extensive service on University committees, continuously elevates the academic community here at TU,” said Keller.

Ann Archer-Lovell, college assistant, and Scott Graham, project engineer serving in the McDougall School of Petroleum Engineering, received the Dean’s Staff Excellence Awards.

“We honor Ann for her dedicated 29 years at TU and her unwavering positivity. She consistently supports others and spreads joy wherever she goes, and we truly value her contributions and her deep understanding of TU as an institution,” said Keller.

“We celebrate Scott and his dedication over the last 20 years at TU and his outstanding contributions as a project engineer at our North Campus facilities, where his innovative designs and mentorship have supported research that has led to many publications and successful students. I know firsthand how he supports collaboration and community spirit, epitomizing excellence at our university,” Keller said.

The College of Engineering & Computer Science Hall of Fame and Honors & Awards support is provided by Francis S. Manning, Professor Emeritus of Chemical Engineering.